Wednesday, June 5, 2013

Oh Hai Blog!

What does it say when it has been almost a year between posts?  I guess it's good, in a way, because that means I've been busy living instead of sucked into the time suck that is computer gaming (no offense of course).  I still feel good about the choice to pull away from the game for a bit.  Balance is something I think I'm always going to struggle with, but I feel like I am finding my stride.  We did get the Mists of Pandaria expansion.  I think we rolled cute little pandas but then didn't play for a few months.  I love new content, but I hate how crazy things are when it first rolls out.  So we just waited for some of the newness to pass.  Over the last few months we've been playing a little more.  Those cute little pandas we rolled are now level 68 and running around Northrend causing all kinds of trouble.  Elfy rolled a cute little panda Monk, and I rolled a panda Hunter.  Yeah, I know... this brings me up to what, seven hunters?  I can't bring myself to play (or delete) my Druid.  I'd be okay playing my Pally, but I'm really having more fun with the hunter.  I can play and not have to pay 100% attention.  

There.

I admit it.  I like to be lazy when I play.

I tend to get a little more addicted than Elfy, so when he hasn't been in the mood to play I've been leveling up some of the characters I haven't really played in awhile including Della, one of my alliance Hunters.  She's exploring the Mists of Pandaria content now.  The play is a little laggy, and spawn rates are kind of to fast so it's a little frustrating.  Hopefully it will be more balanced by the time we get the pandas there.  I'm enjoying the lazy questing and leveling and new content.  I'm looking forward to exploring the new zones a little more thoroughly, and encountering new people to piss off and making new stories to share. :)

Wednesday, August 1, 2012

Wow

I haven't posted over here in awhile.  Real life has taken front and center, as it should, and I haven't logged into WoW in...I'm not really sure how long.  I've had the itch to log in and run around farming stuff, or just log in and see if anyone I know is still around.  But I just haven't.  Now the date for the next expansion (which I don't even know the name of-yeah, I'm that out of it) has been released.  Three days after my birthday.  I'm torn, do I log in and get back into a casual routine and try to figure out what's coming?  Or do I wait until the expansion (well, a few weeks after at least-it's gonna be crazy at first) and get back into the game then when I have to relearn stuff all over again because they are going to change everything again?  I guess I should go do some reading.  Or maybe I'll just craw back into bed...

Tuesday, January 17, 2012

More WTH

So as you know from my last rambling post I’ve leveled a Paladin to level 85 (or maybe I didn't mention the level).  My sweet hubby and I have been PvPing together to get some gear to do stuff in because the gear we leveled in is not good enough to to much with now.  Along with getting gear comes the why, what for and how.  I have to decide if I want to just PvP with her and farm achievements, do I want to run in raids/instances, and what build am I going to settle on?  I leveled Retribution if you care.  Now that she is 85, I have to make the decision Healadin or Tankadin.  Since my healy druid has been dead to me I haven’t really had any interest in healing with anything else, so that leaves Tankadin as my only option.  So ok.  How hard can that be?  I just run up to a mob and start hitting it.  

Oh wait.  I have to make sure I’m not standing it acid or some other substance that will it hard for me to heal.  Ok, so run up and hit stuff but keep moving.  

Oh wait, I’m playing with other people some of which may be cloth-wearing aggro whores.  I need to be able to get aggro back.  Ok, so run up and hit stuff, keep moving, and generate whatever aggro nabbing mad skills I can.  Um.  What?  

/facepalm

So what I see happening at this point is me running up to hit shit (screaming as I go) and then hitting all my buttons as fast as I can hoping I’m moving, holding threat and hitting the right shit.  Did I mention the screaming?  My poor husband, who plays on the couch next to me.  This may be a bad experience all around.
 

Farming achievements is sounding better by the minute. Less performance anxiety that way! 

/shame

Friday, January 6, 2012

WTH am I Doing?

I don't post here very often.  There was a large amount of time where I was not logging into WoW, or really doing anything of note.  Over the Christmas/New Year holiday I started playing again.  I rolled a Blood Elf Paladin (I should really post pictures, my toons are cute) some time ago and was having fun with her but just lost interest.  We had left Union of Lost Souls (ULS) and had created our own guild consisting of three people.  That is fine and dandy, but then WoW went and did this thing where you get perks for being in an active guild like faster mount speed and increased experience in leveling.  So again, I got her to about 72 and lost interest.  When I started playing again over the holidays it was here I went to.  I should have said she is on our old server (since I seem to feel the need to populate more than one).  Wow this is kind of all kinds of rambley!  Anyway, so I'm on our old server and playing a new toon.  Hubby has leveled his main toon (handsome Tauren shaman) to 85 and is looking to raid/run dungeons.  Long story short, we find ourselves back in ULS!  The thing I need to remind myself, guilds are ever changing.  People come and go (and I wish there are some people that would GO-but I think we are ok) and truth be told I really missed playing with some of the friends I (we) made in ULS.  Thanks to the bonus to leveling I got my Paladin to 85 over the holidays and have been PVPing with her to get some gear.  I just have to figure out now hat I want to dow tim her.  She is designed to either tank/off tank/heal.  I'm really really apprehensive about tanking, and am not really interested in healing with her.  I'm getting some gear so she can at least get into dungeons, but again I have to figure out her role.  It's been really good getting to talk to the guild friends again.  There are lots of new people I'm still trying to figure out, and I'm trying to not let it take over my life like it had before.  I like getting things done around the house, or not having to scarf down a dinner.  Balance.  I'm going to strive for balance this year.  (And figuring out wtf to do with my paladin)

Friday, February 25, 2011

Regression?

Now that I have one of my hunters on the other server at level 82 (I think), I'm playing a character back on my old server.  Yes.  I'm back on my old server.  Hopefully I have learned from all the past crap and won't fall back into the same patterns that made me want to leave the server in the first place.  I did roll a new character that I've been leveling (no, it's not a worgen or a goblin).  It's been nice to experience the new content with my husband.  We'll see how long this back on the old server lasts.  I've proven now that I'm fickle and flighty when it comes to playing wow.

Wednesday, January 5, 2011

My Path of Destruction Continues...

So, here is my newest "I'm a WoW jerk" story.

I better set this up for you a bit, before I go into the dialog.  I was in an area that has the tendency (not as much now with the expansion) to be a bit camped.  People farm the area for reputation related drops so it can be hard to get quests done because people are trying to get the items for the reputation trade in.  So that means it can take forever for the things you want to kill to appear, or they can appear too fast.  Anyway, so I'm in this area, trying to complete a quest when my most recent encounter happens.  I am at a specific spot, trying to complete a quest when a mob spawns close to me.  I am playing my hunter, and I have my pet out.  It appears close enough that it aggros my pet and my pet attacks.  It was also close enough that it interrupted my quest completion so I help my pet kill it.  I also have a quest to be killing a mob like the one that attacked, I am supposed to stick a banner in the dead body (ha ha, sounds neat, huh?).  I go to stick the banner in my kill and another player, Rennu, beats me to it.  Not.  Cool.  I don't say anything, but instead I wait for a chance to stick a banner in one of his/her (we'll say his) kills.  I don't follow Rennu around, I finish the quest I was trying to do before getting attacked.  I notice he has a few dead around him so I run over and plant a banner in one of them and then go in another direction (so as not to compete) to finish my own killing and banner planting.  Now the conversation:

Rennu:  Really?
Me:  you planted one on an ogre I killed
Rennu:  I was casting on that ogre when you siced your pet on it
Rennu:  not my fault I can't instant attack
Me:  it was my kill, I didn't realize you were going for it

Rennu:  I was a boomkin facing it and casting spells what else would I have been doing
Me:  you know what, get over it.  I wasn't doing it to be rude.  It was my kill-you should have known because you couldn't loot-yet you still planted your banner.  I didn't harass you about it.
Rennu:  no you just went out of your way to charge up a hill and grab a mob I was clearly killing
Me:  just like you planted a banner on my kill
Rennu is ignoring you

So, thinks I didn't get to point out/say to Rennu:
1.  Boomkin do have an instant attack, it's called MOONFIRE.  I have a boomkin, I know this for a fact.
2.  I don't target all the people around me to see what they are attacking to make sure I don't attacking some thing they are before I attack; the mob spawn on my pet and it attacked-I didn't SICK my pet on anything.  I wasn't trying to run around harassing them.
3.  I wouldn't have "charged up a hill" to plant a banner on a mob they killed if he wasn't a casserole and planted a mob on my kill in the first place.

I hate people. :(

Monday, December 6, 2010

Did You Know There Was a Looking For Group Channel?

I have not played my druid in ages.  There have been several patches, and my talent points have been refunded and unspent for a while now.  A friend sent me a cute little baby moonkin pet to cheer me up while Elfy was away.  So, I finally spent those pesky points so I could get my moonkin form back and chill out with my lil pet.  Not even 10 minutes later I get a whisper for a raid invite.  Elfy tells me to mess with him.  It was one of those nights where that sounded like just the thing to do.  This is how it played out:

Vaniash:  dps for kel thuzud 10?
Me:  please tell how to wow?
Vaniash:  wth
Vaniash:  how to wow
Me:  please how to wow?
Vaniash:  wth did u messga me that?
Me:  please wow?
Vaniash:  do u need help?
Vaniash:  like ar eu mental
Vaniash:  stop messaging me
Me:  please help wow?
Vaniash:  why the hell would i wanna help wow the peopole who fricken lure u into like what 15 bucks a month

and that is where it ended.  I think Vaniash was more mental than I was!  I know I could have just said no, or told him to try the looking for group channel, but this was soooo much more fun!  It is a pet peeve that people still whisper random people for groups like that.  If I wanted to be dpsing something I would be in the looking for group channel.  I should have told him how to wow!

~Emily