Tuesday, June 16, 2009

Mock the Guild "Torchered Souls"

I can only assume this guild is full of jerks and idiots based on the experience I had with them. Let me share that tale with you now!

I was running around one of the blood elf areas (I think it started in Eversong Woods), minding my own business on a baby toon I created just for the purpose of goofing off and laying low. I was being laid back, so I had the General Channel and the Trade Channel on, so I could see just how much happier I am to not be on those channels on my real toons. I was seeing a lot of "Sign my guild charter" spam on the channels, and was tuning most of it out.

I was doing my own thing, completing quests and turning them in. As I was running from one town to another, I passed a level 70 Death Knight. This char followed me, and after a few moments a "Guild Charter Signature Page" flashed up on my screen. This was one of the people spamming the trade and general chat looking for people to sign their charter. I hid close and kept moving on. Signing the charter would ahve put me in their guild, which I could have left once it was formed. I just didn't like the way they sent the page to me without even whispering me first to see if I would. I put this person on ignore the minute I hit close because I just wanted to be left alone. After a while I took this person off ignore (this would be a mistake). I was turning in more quests and just as I was about to hit "accept" (to turn in a quest and get my reward), guess what pops up on my screen and interrupts me? Yup, a "Guild Charter Signature Page" from the same toon. I hit close and quickly finished up my turn in. This char, his/her name is Deathsins, whispered me and we had a nice little chat: (not exact, but you get the gist)

Deathsins: Sign my charter
Me: No
Deathsins: I'll give you 1 gold
Me: No
Deathsins: Ur being a rude jerk
Me: I'm being a rude jerk? You are being a rude jerk
Deathsins: I can make is so you never get into a guild
Me: Have fun with that
Deathsins: I'm a level 70 and I can make it so you never get a guild invite anywhere
Me: Whatever. I have a level 80, and a guild. Have fun with that
Deathsins: Ur being a real ass, just sign my charter
Me: You are the one being rude. You don't even ask, you just send out the signature invite. I was in the middle of doing something and you kept interrupting me. And I'm the one being rude?
Deathsins: Whatever.

I put this person on ignore after that. But now, the small amount of scottish/irish blood in me is boiling for revenge. I am, at some point, going to get even with this ass. I know a few of Deathsins alts, and I'm tracking the guild they created. I don't know how, and I don't know when... but I'm going to get even for the stupid behavior and the really ridiculous threats (I have a level 70....I still giggle when I think about that). And I have a guild full of fun people that like to mess stupid people up. Deathsins has no idea what he/she invoked that day.

Tuesday, May 5, 2009

I wish I could have my very own WoW server, where only people I invite could come play with me and when they annoy me or cease to be helpful or productive I could boot them from my server.  It would be so much better than the gkick button (which boots a person from a guild).  

Guild drama is just stupid.  It is seriously like being back in school and fighting with kids on the playground except everyone is grown up and has no good excuse for acting like a jerk.  I hate it when lines and boundaries are just, non-existent and everyone does what the want or what is best for them.  One really obnoxious, self-absorbed, emo wanker can ruin a quiet small guild.  
Lately, our guild dynamic has been changing.  It feels like the mellow laid back feeling is being replaced with a pushy, stressed vibe.  That makes me grumpy.  I now either need to step up and keep up with the pace and deal with the additions to the guild that I don't want, play another character or just leave the game.  

If I do leave the game, I'm going out in a blaze of glory. *wicked grin*

Saturday, April 25, 2009

Ah, Flashbacks to First Grade

I guess it would actually be third grade for me, I was home-schooled for first and second grade.  But I digress...

So as most you you readers (the whole two or three of you) know, I am a WoW chick and I have been posting a little bit about my role as a druid raid healer.  Elfy, well Scritch actually, and I have a horde raiding guild that we have been a part of for a while.  It's not the same guild we raided with at first.  We left that guild because success was getting to some members heads, and it was causing the raids to feel like work instead of something fun to do.  We left that guild, and actually quit playing the game for a few months.  We started up alliance side and had a bunch of really stupid crap happen there after we leveled our chars and got into a "raiding" guild (I use raiding loosely here because they had no idea what a real raiding guild was, it was more "you are my friend so you get to come, even if you can't heal and we all die all night.").  I think I posted about that drama trama already.  So we came back to our horde chars and picked up playing with our horde friends.  

The guild we are in horde side is much more laid back than our first guild.  It has most of our dear friends from the first guild, who also left for similar reasons.  We started running things with them, starting out in the 5 man instances for practice, gear and fun.  Recently we started working on the 10 man content.  For the most part, it is fun.  Learning a new fight is stressful at first, but getting it done and learning the fight with good players is fun.  The raiding was relatively laid back, and low-stress.

Recently, there has been a player or two (you know how there is always one, and then they rope a few others in) who have been pushing to try encounters that frankly, the guild is not ready for.  There are a lot of factors that have to be conisdered with each fight-how much healing needs to be done, how much damage per second, what classes are best for each boss, and so on and so forth.  Our class pool in our guild is limited (we are a small guild), and people are still working on getting gear to better their stats and such.  It's hard having someone pushing pushing pushing us to move forward when we just don't have the power to do so yet.  So then the fun starts to drain away, tempers flair, and I want to stop healing everyone and let them all die.  It feels just like being stuck in a class of first graders, where there are always one or two kids who are trying to rule the class.  I think "bossy."  In this situation, it's too many leaders an a confused group of followers.  Tonight was just really really stressful because I hate conflict.  And I hate wankers who think they know it all but won't step up when called out.  

If it keeps going like this much longer I see myself done with WoW.  I'm not done just yet.  I can't pass up the chance to use my healing powers for evil.  The only power I have, is the power to not heal someone.  My one amusement is to have a no-heal list, and after tonight, it has at least one new name. :)

Wednesday, March 4, 2009

WoW Update

Because Elfy keeps posting comments in the post below, it made me think I should post a new update here!  We got our Horde toons to 80, after what felt like the longest grind in the world!  We have the speced the way we want them (both of us are healers), and have started running stuff like crazy for badges and resto experience!  It has been a long time since I healed, so I was a little stressed about doing it again.  After a couple of stressful runs and some good back up healers, I am feeling much more confident in my healing and am less reluctant to be the healer in 5 man heroics now.  Now, I want to help Elfy get to that point!  We've been running all we can, getting what ever gear we can (from instances, guildies etc.) and working on various rep for any other pieces and enchants we can get.  I'm looking forward to making progress in the grown up instances with our friends and ULS guildies.  For the Horde!

Thursday, January 15, 2009

*Sigh*

I have been very neglectful of this blog.  Elfy and I enjoyed (well, that's me keeing the glass half full) leveling our spacegoats through the new content.  We joined a guild that said it planned to raid the new 10 man content, so that motiviated us to get to 80 so we could roll with the high levels.  We got to 80, and I decided I did not want to raid with my shadow priest. ><  I did not find it enjoyable to be expected to heal when I was not speced to do so.  And I did not want to heal with my priest.  So, while Elfy worked on faction for gear I started to power level a druid.  Meanwhile, things kind of fell apart.  The people were nice enough in the guild, but they seemed a little unwilling to let new people in to the "in" group.  One minute Elfy is on the progression team, next minute he's not.  He want to be a healer, they tell him they need dps.  So he specs for dps and works on getting gear and numbers up to where they told him they needed to be.  Then they tell him they need healers.   Either way, he's not able to run in the 10 mans.  Instead, they are putting in people who don't want to heal, or whos dps is very much below Elfy's.  When he calls them out on this, they pretty much blow him off, and then imply he doesn't know what a progression team.  Apparently our time raiding in Requiem, which was what, the 3rd ranked horde guild on our server at one point meant we knew nothing?  Needless to say we quit the guild and went back Horde side to lick our wounds.  This meant we left our level 80's, and my druid that I leveled as far as 66 (I leveled her 30+ levels in one week, that's how badly I wanted to raid with a druid).  Our horde toons are level 70, so at least I have a 70 druid to fall back on.  But Elfy was really enjoying the Shammy.  This posed a problem.

Refer a friend to the rescue.  So Elfy could have a horde side shammy we signed up for the refer a friend program.  I signed up for the trial account and rolled, wait for it... wait... another druid!  And Elfy rolled a shammy.  The refer a friend had super xp bonuses, and we were able to get from 0-60 in a week.  After level 60 our super xp bond was broken, and the grind now has been a little harder to swallow.  I just need to suck it up, and do the two box thing.   We have some really wonderful friends horde side who welcomed us back without question or hesitation.  I'm looking forward to getting to 80 and being able to run all the instances with people we know how to raid with, and people we can just be silly with.   I wish Elfy didn't have to grind all the rep again, or get all the gear again but at least we have a guild that things about eachother, and wants everyone to have things and enjoy playing.  I just hope I can get into a groove, and get us through outlands and into northrend sooner rather than later.  Thanks to my hatred of running things with my priest I didn't get to run any of the instances so I'm looking forward to seeing all that content for the first time.  I'm just going to have to keep that in mind as I quest quest quest away.