We watched "No Country for Old Men" and "Cloverfield" last night. I'm still forming an opinion about "No Country." I didn't hate it, but I'm not sure if I liked it either.
I do have an opinion abut "Cloverfield." ***Spoilers***
So it starts out the day in the life of a group of people, shot "Blair Witch Project" style (one of the characters is running the camera). It's hard to really care about the people, the story was not that interesting. I believe I asked Elfy when the spider bug bombs were going to start about 2 minutes in to the movie. When things finally do start happening the style of the movie becomes even more annoying. I hate jiggly camera. I also hate movies where they are shy about showing you their monster. So there is a lot of sly shots of the beastie, lots of running around and jiggly (not to be confused with jiggy) camera shots, one (seriously one) combat scene, maybe 5 spider monsters and then the blessed death of the characters start. I hated the way the movie ended, crappy movies should end completely, not open. I found satisfaction in the fact that all the characters you are forced to follow die. I would say don't waste the money, wait for it to come out on TBS or something. Or maybe the bunny troop from Angry Alien will re-inact it in 30 seconds (that would be the better option).
We rented two other movies, hopefully they will be, different. :)
Saturday, April 26, 2008
Friday, April 25, 2008
*Happy Dance*
I am finally not at work! Me and my sweetie went and rented a bunch of movies to watch, you know, to help us forget about the pain we must endure tomorrow. *sigh* I really shouldn't feel this way about seeing my family. One of my former co-workers just lost her mother. I should cherish the time I have with my parents. I just wish they would let me be an adult. That would really make things so much easier. Off to watch a movie, perhaps I'll post some movie reviews soon!
Ugh
Today is the day that will go on forever! I mean, I love Fridays but all the time between the good stuff is taking forever! Everyone in the office has pretty much checked out for the day. No one wants to be here. Some people have not had their evaluations yet so there is still some tension in the air. Currently three of the attorneys are out of the office in a meeting, a meeting no one else was invited two and two of the attorneys have no idea what it is about. This has some people squirming. I should be working, but it is too late to start a project. Ugh. I hate days like this. Please let 5 pm get here soon!!!!!!!
Thursday, April 24, 2008
This Week
So this week I had my yearly evaluation at work. We are all supposed to fill in and submit a self evaluation in advance. I did this. Then the boss reviews it, and any feed back from other staff about your work performance and prepares a personal evaluation. I dread this. I hate anything that is all about me. I don't like talking about me. I generally know what I need to work on, and where I've done good. I was incredibly honest in my self evaluation so I had an idea of what to expect. It was not what I expected. My evaluation was actually very good. My boss wrote me a very positive, complimentary evaluation. I know that I have the two attorneys I work for to thank for a good chunk of that. I was given very positive feed back, and had a very good conversation with my boss. And I got a raise. :) I don't know why I get so worked up and stressed out.
This weekend I have to go to the coast for my sisters graduation party. I have developed a cold sore and a strong desire to stay in bed.
This weekend I have to go to the coast for my sisters graduation party. I have developed a cold sore and a strong desire to stay in bed.
Friday, April 18, 2008
Fridays...
are hands down the best day of the week. Fridays for me mean alarm clock off. After the last snooze and just before I put my feet on the carpet to shuffle to the shower I get to turn the alarm clock off for two beautiful scared days. Fridays also mean scones and coffee with my sweetie. He takes me into work that day and we enjoy Great Harvest marionberry scones and triple venti vanilla lattes at Starbucks (where it is like Cheers, everyone knows my name, my drink how many shots to put in base by my smile or lack thereof). But this isn't it, there is more. After work, David comes to get me (bless him) and we enjoy dinner at either India Place (naan makes me super happy) or if we feel like seafood we'll go to McGrath's. It is lovely, and I look forward to it all week. This Friday had even one more layer of wonderful-ness for me. David said it was time for new clogs, and he bought me these, and a really cute pair I can't find a link for but I love them and I plan to sleep in them tonight. *super huge grins* My David love me. *beams* It is a very good Friday.
Wednesday, April 9, 2008
I am my own worst enemy
Why do I think it is a good idea to stay up alone and watch shows like Ghost Hunters? I am such a chicken. The room I am sleeping in has creepy little midget doors and I am now convinced something sinister is lurking behind both of them waiting to get me. Damn it.
Wednesday, April 2, 2008
My Turn
I finally got sick. The small office I work in has been passing cooties around for the last few months. At any given time at least one person in the office is sick. I had dodged it successfully until just recently. My poor sweetie got sick and was out for a week. I guess it was only logical that I came down with something next. So here I am, I feel like a giant bag of snot. I just hope it goes away soon. I would like to have my wits about me again.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)