We watched "No Country for Old Men" and "Cloverfield" last night. I'm still forming an opinion about "No Country." I didn't hate it, but I'm not sure if I liked it either.
I do have an opinion abut "Cloverfield." ***Spoilers***
So it starts out the day in the life of a group of people, shot "Blair Witch Project" style (one of the characters is running the camera). It's hard to really care about the people, the story was not that interesting. I believe I asked Elfy when the spider bug bombs were going to start about 2 minutes in to the movie. When things finally do start happening the style of the movie becomes even more annoying. I hate jiggly camera. I also hate movies where they are shy about showing you their monster. So there is a lot of sly shots of the beastie, lots of running around and jiggly (not to be confused with jiggy) camera shots, one (seriously one) combat scene, maybe 5 spider monsters and then the blessed death of the characters start. I hated the way the movie ended, crappy movies should end completely, not open. I found satisfaction in the fact that all the characters you are forced to follow die. I would say don't waste the money, wait for it to come out on TBS or something. Or maybe the bunny troop from Angry Alien will re-inact it in 30 seconds (that would be the better option).
We rented two other movies, hopefully they will be, different. :)
Saturday, April 26, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment